

## EJK Award and Honor List 1986-2023

YEAR / BOOK TITLE	NAME	AWARD/HONOR
2023		
How to Say Hello to a Worm	Kari Percival	Writer Award
Hot Dog	Doug Salati	Illustrator Award
Everything in Its Place	Pauline David-Sax	Writer Honor
Sometimes All I Need is Me	Juliana Perdomo	Writer Honor
Emile and the Field	Chioma Ebinama	Illustrator Honor
Where Butterflies Fill the Sky	Zahra Marwan	Illustrator Honor
2022		
Out Into The Big Wide Lake	Paul Harbridge	Writer Award
Lala's Words	Gracey Zhang	Illustrator Award
Playing at the Border	Joanna Ho	Writer Honor
Everybody in the Red Brick Building	Anne Wynter	Writer Honor
Every Little Kindness	Marta Bartolj	Illustrator Honor
Many Shapes of Clay	Kenehsa Sneed	Illustrator Honor
2021		
Nana Akua Goes to School	Tricia Elam Walker	Writer Award
Brick by Brick	Heidi Woodward Sheffield	Illustrator Award
The Old Truck	Jarrett & Jerome Pumphrey	Writer Honor
Can Bears Ski?	Raymond Antrobus	Writer Honor
I'm Sticking With You	Steve Small	Illustrator Honor
Cyclops of Central Park	Victoria Tentler-Krylov	Illustrator Honor
2020		
Small in the City	Sydney Smith	Writer Winner
Layla's Happiness	Ashleigh Corrin	Illustrator Winner
Lawrence in the Fall	Matthew Farina	Writer Honor
Layla's Happiness	Mariahadessa Ekere Tallie	Writer Honor
One Fox: A Counting Book Thriller	Kate Read	Illustrator Honor
Lawrence in the Fall	Doug Salati	Illustrator Honor
2019		
Kitten and the Night Watchman	John Sullivan	Writer Winner
Thank You, Omu!	Oge Mora	Illustrator Winner

The Funeral	Matt James	Writer Honor
Alma and How She Got Her Name	Juana Martinez-Neal	Writer Honor
Julian is a Mermaid	Jessica Love	Illustrator Honor
Prickly Hedgehogs!	Jane McGuinness	Illustrator Honor
2018		
Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut	Derrick Barnes	Writer Winner
Muddy: The Story of Blues Legend Muddy Waters	Evan Turk	Illustrator Winner
Laundry Day	Jessixa Bagley	Writer Honor
City Moon	Rachael Cole	Writer Honor
Things to Do	Elaine Magliaro	Writer Honor
A Different Pond	Bao Phi	Writer Honor
A Different Pond	Thi Bui	Illustrator Honor
The One Day House	Bianca Diaz	Illustrator Honor
Windows	E.B. Goodale	Illustrator Honor
Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut	Gordon C. James	Illustrator Honor
2017	Cordon C. barrico	muotrator Florior
A Piece of Home	Jeri Watts	Writer Winner
Daniel Finds a Poem	Micha Archer	Illustrator Winner
Daillei Filius a Foeili	Wilcha Archer	mustrator winner
Excellent Ed	Stacy McAnulty	Writer Honor
The Journey	Francesca Sanna	Writer Honor
The Girl with the Parrot on Her Head	Daisy Hirst	Illustrator Honor
The Journey	Francesca Sanna	Illustrator Honor
2016		
Poet: The Remarkable Story of George	•	
Moses Horton	Don Tate	Writer Winner
Sonya's Chickens	Phoebe Wahl	Illustrator Winner
A Crow of His Own	Megan Dowd Lambert	Writer Honor
The Bear Ate Your Sandwich	Julia Sarcone-Roach	Writer Honor
Mother Bruce	Ryan T. Higgins	Illustrator Honor
Rude Cakes	Rowboat Watkins	Illustrator Honor
2015		
Hana Hashimoto, Sixth Violin	Chieri Uegaki	Writer Winner
Shh! We Have a Plan	Chris Haughton	Illustrator Winner
	omio riadgiitoii	machater Trimier
Edda: A Little Valkyrie's First Day of School	Adam Auerbach	Writer Honor
Firebird		Writer Honor
	Misty Copeland	
A Boy and a Jaguar	Alan Rabinowitz	Writer Honor
Little Elliot, Big City	Mike Curato	Illustrator Honor
Cuan death an Caralla!		Illi jahuakan Llanas :
Grandfather Gandhi 2014	Evan Turk	Illustrator Honor

Tea Party Rules Rain!	Ame Dyckman Christian Robinson	Writer Winner
I Love You, Nose! I Love You, Toes!	Linda Davick	Writer Honor
Sophie's Squash	Pat Zietlow Miller	Writer Honor
My Grandpa	Marta Altés	Illustrator Honor
Tea Party Rules	K.G. Campbell	Illustrator Honor
Take Me Out to the Yakyu	Aaron Meshon	Illustrator Honor
2013		
And Then It's Spring	Julie Fogliano	Writer Winner
Mom, It's My First Day of Kindergarten!	Hyewon Yum	Illustrator Winner
The Stamp Collector	Jennifer Lanthier	Writer Honor
My Heart Will Not Sit Down	Mara Rockliff	Writer Honor
It Jes' Happened	Don Tate	Writer Honor
Lester's Dreadful Sweaters	K.G. Campbell	Illustrator Honor
Ganesha's Sweet Tooth	Sanjay Patel	Illustrator Honor
2012		
Tia Isa Wants a Car	Meg Medina	Writer Winner
Same, Same but Different	Jenny Sue Kostecki-Shaw	Illustrator Winner
Same, Same but Different	Jenny Sue Kostecki-Shaw	Writer Honor
Cinnamon Baby	Nicola Winstanley	Writer Honor
Lola's Fandango	Anna Witte	Writer Honor
Lola's Fandango	Micha Archer	Illustrator Honor
Not Inside this House!	David Ercolini	Illustrator Honor
2011		
l Know Here	Laurel Croza	Writer Winner
Bunny Days	Tao Nyeu	Illustrator Winner
2010		
Most Loved in All the World	Tonya Cherie Hegamin	Writer Winner
Only a Witch Can Fly	Taeeun Yoo	Illustrator Winner
2009		
Garmann's Summer	Stian Hole	Writer Winner
Bird	Shadra Strickland	Illustrator Winner
2008		
Leaves	David Ezra Stein	Writer Winner
The Apple Pie that Papa Baked	Jonathan Bean	Illustrator Winner
2007		
For You Are a Kenyan Child	Kelly Cunnane	Writer Winner
Mystery Bottle	Kristen Balouch	Illustrator Winner
2006		
My Best Friend	Mary Ann Rodman	Writer Winner

Silly Chicken	Yunmee Kyong	Illustrator Winner
2005		
Going North	Janice N. Harrington	Writer Winner
The Night Eater	Ana Juan	<b>Illustrator Winner</b>
2004		
Yesterday I Had the Blues	Jeron Ashford Frame	Writer Winner
My Name is Yoon	Gabi Swiatkowska	<b>Illustrator Winner</b>
2003		
Ruby's Wish	Shirin Yim Bridges	Writer Winner
Ruby's Wish	Sophie Blackall	<b>Illustrator Winner</b>
2002		
Freedom Summer	Deborah Wiles	Writer Winner
Freedom Summer	Jerome Lagarrigue	Illustrator Winner
2001		
Henry Hikes to Fitchburg	D.B. Johnson	Writer Winner
Uptown	Bryan Collier	<b>Illustrator Winner</b>
2000		
Dear Juno	Soyung Pak	Writer Winner
1999		
Elizabeti's Doll	Stephanie Stuve-Bodeen	Writer Winner
1997		
Calling the Doves (El canto de las palomas)	Juan Felipe Herrera	Writer Winner
1995	oddir i clipe ricirera	Willer Willing
Taxi! Taxi!	Cari Best	Writer Winner
1993	Our Best	Witter Willing
Tar Beach	Faith Ringgold	Writer Winner
1991	- alti itiliggola	William Villinoi
Tell Me a Story, Mama	Angela Johnson	Writer Winner
1989	Angela Comison	THILLI THIMIGI
Anna's Special Present	Yoriko Tsutsui	Writer Winner
•	TOTINO TSULSUI	AALIFEL AALIILIEL
1987  Jamaica's Find	Juanita Havill	1007 Writer Winner
	Juanita Havill	1987 Writer Winner
1986	Valaria Flavora	4000 White Williams
The Patchwork Quilt	Valerie Flournoy	1986 Writer Winner